IT (2017)

itofficialposter-1024x1518

I don’t read the book, but I’m a huge fan of the 1990 adaptation and I can say this 2017 version is awesomely unsettling. Different kind of unsettling unlike when you watch supernatural horror with jump scares such as Conjuring/Insidious, this one is seeing your worst nightmares literally come to life.

What I like most from this one, I feel emotionally engaged with the gang as if I’m also part of the “adventure”. Great casting and character writing.

Though Pennywise appears to be scarier beyond expected, I still prefer Tim Curry version. He’s got more personality than just being scary. He was wacky and playful. For me, THAT made him creepier since he looked & acted like a “normal” clown. He’s kinda like your funny and friendly neighbor who turned out to be a child molester by night.

On the other hand, Skarsgard’s Pennywise looks absolutely sinister. You’d instantly nope the heck out when you see this guy on the street. I have no problem with this decision, actually. Because he looks so great on screen. Awesome special fx on him too.

There are 2 Pennywise now. They got different vibes and I like both versions for different reasons.

Whichever floats your boat. You’ll float too either way.

Leave a Reply

